Home/Automotive Franchises
Automotive franchises serve a consistent, need-based market. With vehicles requiring regular maintenance regardless of economic conditions, these franchises offer recession-resistant revenue streams. Concepts range from quick oil changes and tire services to full-service repair shops and detailing businesses.
§ Drawn from 66 automotive FDDs on file · latest filings
What 66 filings say
Not estimates — every figure below is aggregated from the disclosure documents themselves.
Total initial investment · distribution
Where 63 disclosed ranges land. Median $624,000.
The $500K–1M band holds the median filing. The middle half of these brands sit between $344,000 and $1,327,000.
62%
disclose an Item 19
41 of 66 brands on file, against 74% across every brand in the database.
142
median U.S. unit count
Across the 62 brands that disclose an outlet count in their latest filing.
6%
median royalty
Across the 62 brands that state a single rate; the rest tie royalties to sales tiers or charge none.
0%
median outlet change, 2025 to 2026
Across the 24 brands that filed in both years: 10 grew, 8 shrank.
Figures are drawn straight from each brand’s latest FDD. See our franchise industry reports for the trends behind these numbers.
Showing 11 of 66 automotive franchises with a published breakdown. Search all automotive brands →
FDD 2025–2026
Total investment
$515K–$651K
U.S. units
326
Royalty
50%
Item 19
Disclosed
FDD 2025–2026
Total investment
$137K–$419K
U.S. units
832
Royalty
Varies (see Item 6)
Item 19
Disclosed
FDD 2025–2026
Total investment
$104K–$377K
U.S. units
1,741
Royalty
Varies (see Item 6)
Item 19
Not disclosed
FDD 2024–2026
Total investment
$111K–$444K
U.S. units
495
Royalty
Varies (see Item 6)
Item 19
Not disclosed
FDD 2026
Total investment
$192K–$3.5M
U.S. units
2,039
Royalty
6%
Item 19
Disclosed
Past the table
A Workspace opens the brand’s actual FDD next to its Clearly Report — every figure cited to the Item and page, questions answered from this filing only, and both years side by side when the brand has filed twice.
See a Workspace →