Kumon's 2026 FDD lists an Item 7 estimated initial investment of $101,630–$233,780, against $73,123–$165,360 in the 2025 filing.
Source: MN CARDS & WI DFI state filings · Updated April 2026 · Clearly FDD
Item 7 — Estimated Initial Investment
2025 FDD
2026 FDD
Change
Low end of range
$73,123
$101,630
+$28,507 (+39.0%)
High end of range
$165,360
$233,780
+$68,420 (+41.4%)
Full range
$73,123–$165,360
$101,630–$233,780
The 2026 filing puts the Item 7 estimated initial investment at $101,630–$233,780, against $73,123–$165,360 in the 2025 filing.
Item 20 — System Size (Outlet Count)
2025 FDD
2026 FDD
Change
Total outlets (Item 20)
1,689
1,710
+21 (+1.2%)
Kumon reports 1,710 US centers in the 2026 FDD, up 21 from 1,689 in the 2025 filing.
Item 19 — Financial Performance Representations
Kumon did not include an Item 19 financial performance representation in either the 2025 or the 2026 filing; both filings state the franchisor does not make financial performance representations.
Item 6 — Ongoing Fees
2025 FDD
2026 FDD
Change
Royalty rate
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
unchanged
Neither filing discloses a single royalty percentage; the Kumon agreement uses per-student monthly fees detailed in Item 6 rather than a percentage of Gross Sales.
Frequently asked questions
Did the cost to open a Kumon franchise change in the 2026 FDD?
The 2026 FDD for Kumon states an Item 7 estimated initial investment of $101,630–$233,780, against $73,123–$165,360 in the 2025 filing. The low end moves from $73,123 to $101,630 (+$28,507 (+39.0%)) and the high end moves from $165,360 to $233,780 (+$68,420 (+41.4%)).
How many locations does Kumon have?
The 2026 FDD for Kumon reports 1,710 outlets in Item 20, against 1,689 in the 2025 filing — 21 more.
Does Kumon disclose financial performance in its FDD?
Kumon did not include an Item 19 financial performance representation in either the 2025 or the 2026 filing; both filings state the franchisor does not make financial performance representations.