Item 7 in this filing is presented by format, so the 2025 and 2026 ranges are not directly comparable. 2026: $616,682–$5,822,933. 2025: $1,766,798–$5,822,933.
| 2025 FDD | 2026 FDD | Change | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Low end of range | $1,766,798 | $616,682 | |
| High end of range | $5,822,933 | $5,822,933 | |
| Full range | $1,766,798–$5,822,933 | $616,682–$5,822,933 |
Item 7 in this filing is presented by format, so the 2025 and 2026 ranges are not directly comparable. 2026: $616,682–$5,822,933. 2025: $1,766,798–$5,822,933.
2026 filing: Item 6 details additional ongoing and periodic fees. Item 7 (Estimated Initial Investment) outlines the investment range and includes separate tables for different prototypes; totals vary by unit type and region. Refer to Items 5–7 for granular breakdowns by line item, including technology, site, and construction-related costs.
| 2025 FDD | 2026 FDD | Change | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 1,507 | 1,480 | −27 (−1.8%) |
| Franchised outlets | 1,460 | 1,421 | −39 (−2.7%) |
| Company-owned outlets | 47 | 59 | +12 |
| Openings during the year | Not disclosed | 11 | |
| Closures during the year | Not disclosed | 33 |
Applebee's reports 1,480 outlets in the 2026 FDD, against 1,507 in the 2025 filing — a change of −27 (−1.8%).
Outlet counts as each filing states them — 2025: Fiscal year ended 2024 (Traditional Venue locations) and 2024 (Non-Traditional Venue locations); 2026: As of December 28, 2025. Item 20 tables distinguish traditional and non-traditional venues and include dual-branded locations within their figures. Transfer counts reflect outlets sold by franchisees to other franchisees during the most recent fiscal year.
Applebee's included an Item 19 financial performance representation in both the 2025 and 2026 filings. The 2026 filing discloses financial performance, broken out across 5 outlet segments for 12-month period of December 30, 2024 to December 28, 2025.
| 2025 FDD | 2026 FDD | Change | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard royalty rate | 4% | 4% | unchanged |
The standard royalty rate holds at 4% of Gross Sales across both filings.
2025 filing: FDD states the royalty percentage can be increased by the franchisor. 2026 filing: The royalty percentage may be increased by the franchisor per the Franchise Agreement and FDD disclosure. See Item 6 for the royalty fee table and note that Gross Sales exclusions and definitions are detailed in the FDD.