Home Sonic2025 vs. 2026
FDD Year-over-Year Comparison

Sonic FDD: What Changed from 2025 to 2026

The 2026 Sonic FDD moves the Item 7 estimated initial investment range from $1,676,000–$3,140,900 to $1,485,200–$2,522,900, and the system contracts from 3,461 to 3,412 outlets (−1.4%) year-over-year. Both filings include an Item 19 financial performance representation.

Source: WI & MN state filings · Updated June 2026 · ClearlyFDD

Item 7 — Estimated Initial Investment

2025 FDD2026 FDDChange
Low end of range$1,676,000$1,485,200−$190,800 (−11.4%)
High end of range$3,140,900$2,522,900−$618,000 (−19.7%)
Full range$1,676,000–$3,140,900$1,485,200–$2,522,900

The 2026 filing puts the Item 7 estimated initial investment at $1,485,200–$2,522,900, against $1,676,000–$3,140,900 in the 2025 filing. The low end moves by −$190,800 (−11.4%) and the high end moves by −$618,000 (−19.7%), narrowing the band from $1,464,900 to $1,037,700.

2025 filing: Initial investment range reflects the TOTAL row for Free-Standing Leased (Traditional Free-Standing) in Item 7; Item 7 also provides separate totals for C-Store leased and Drive-Thru Only leased formats. 2026 filing: Item 7 provides separate total estimated initial investment ranges by format (Free-standing leased, C-Store leased, and Urban in-line leased); the total shown here is for the Free-standing leased format (excluding free-standing real estate costs).

Item 20 — System Size (Outlet Count)

2025 FDD2026 FDDChange
Total outlets (Item 20)3,4613,412−49 (−1.4%)
Franchised outlets3,1443,120−24 (−0.8%)
Company-owned outlets317292−25
Openings during the yearNot disclosed32
Closures during the yearNot disclosed75

Sonic reports 3,412 outlets in the 2026 FDD, against 3,461 in the 2025 filing — a change of −49 (−1.4%).

Outlet counts as each filing states them — 2025: Year end 2024 (end of 2024 fiscal year); 2026: End of fiscal year 2025 (December 28, 2025). Openings and closures reflect 2025 franchised openings (Table 3: Restaurants Opened) and total closures in 2025 (franchised ceased operations plus company restaurants closed). Transfers reflect transfers from franchisees to new owners (other than franchisor/affiliate) in 2025 (Table 2).

Item 19 — Financial Performance Representations

Sonic included an Item 19 financial performance representation in both the 2025 and 2026 filings. The 2026 filing discloses financial performance, broken out across 7 outlet segments for 2025 fiscal year (December 30, 2024 to December 28, 2025).

Item 6 — Ongoing Fees

2025 FDD2026 FDDChange
Standard royalty rate5%5%unchanged

The standard royalty rate holds at 5% of Gross Sales across both filings.

2025 filing: Item 6 notes describe incentive programs that may reduce the royalty rate for qualifying restaurants. 2026 filing: Royalty is payable monthly on the 10th day of the next month; reduced royalty rates may apply under certain incentive programs.

Frequently asked questions

Did the cost to open a Sonic franchise change in the 2026 FDD?

The 2026 FDD for Sonic states an Item 7 estimated initial investment of $1,485,200–$2,522,900, against $1,676,000–$3,140,900 in the 2025 filing. The low end moves from $1,676,000 to $1,485,200 (−$190,800 (−11.4%)) and the high end moves from $3,140,900 to $2,522,900 (−$618,000 (−19.7%)).

How many locations does Sonic have?

The 2026 FDD for Sonic reports 3,412 outlets in Item 20, against 3,461 in the 2025 filing — 49 fewer.

How many Sonic locations closed?

The 2026 FDD for Sonic reports 75 outlet closures for the year it covers.

Did Sonic change its royalty rate?

No. Both the 2025 and 2026 filings for Sonic state a standard royalty of 5%.

Unlock this Workspace

  • Clearly Report + Workspace
  • Full FDD breakdown with citations
  • Ask Clara as many questions as you need
  • Saved to your Clearly Library, organized by brand
Unlock This Workspace — $49